Main Content

JCPL History Databases

Browse the resources below, or choose a specific category to narrow your search. The more information link can lead to tips, known issues as well as help using the resource. To request assistance, or suggest a resource, use our contact page and select Online Databases as the category.

After hours use

Due to nightly server maintenance, some JCPL resources may not be available between the hours of 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. CST.

INSPIRE

Inspire is Indiana's Virtual Library, providing access to several databases for biographies, literature, and newspaper and magazine articles. Search from dozens of sources all over the web at once with a single click or narrow your search for specific materials.

Read on for tips on using this service at home.

More information

American Memory (Library of Congress)

Learn about important events and moments in U.S. History with this site from the Library of Congress. Numerous original source documents including photos, news articles, speeches and sound and video clips.

More information

Center for the Study of History and Memory (Indiana University)

Oral Histories and autobiographies of dozens of people associated with Indiana University and IU research projects. In addition to preserving these memories, the site is also tasked with the mission of improving oral history collection and preservation. Find guides to create or enhance your own oral history project.

More information

Digital Collections at the Library of Congress

Browse and explore several important collections online from the Library of Congress.

More information

Indiana Memory (Indiana State Library)

Digital collections hosted by educational and public or not-for-profit organizations featuring Indiana history.

More information

In the First Person (Alexander Street Press)

A free index to first-person stories in English from more than 18,000 individuals from all walks of life around the world. Search more than 700,000 pages of full-text as well as more than 4,300 audio and video files. Approximately 25 percent of links point to copyrighted materials that may be purchased for an additional fee.

More information