Main Content

Have you tried...

IN.gov

The portal for information about Indiana State Government online. Contains links to state agencies and services, the legislature, courts and more.

More information

JCPL Databases

The resources on these pages are provided FREE to Jasper County Public Library patrons to help with research and entertainment needs. Except where noted, all of these resources can be used at home or away from the library. Use from home will require a JCPL library card, and some services may require you to establish an account in order to save preferences or other materials. This information is not retained by JCPL.

Browse the resources below, or choose a specific category to narrow your search. The more information link can lead to tips, known issues as well as help using the resource. To request assistance, or suggest a resource, use our contact page and select Online Databases as the category.

After hours use

Due to nightly server maintenance, some JCPL resources may not be available between the hours of 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. CST.

Ancestry - Library

Interested in researching your family history, but not sure where to start? Stop in at the library and check out Ancestry, as seen on television, available for free at your library.

More information

Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC)

This easy-to-use resource allows you to search for and print repair information, including illustrations, for your vehicle (without handling a big heavy book). Results include recall information.

More information

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers and to empower consumers to protect themselves.

More information

Heritage Quest

A resource for census data, family records and local histories, this collection contains U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, primary source materials, and more.

More information

Indiana Legal Forms

Up-to-date legal forms for Indiana. Forms and samples of living wills, lease agreements, liens and more. Download in Microsoft Word or PDF and save or print.

More information

Learning Express Library

Study for and take practice tests for official exams in law enforcement, civil service, real estate, cosmetology, EMS, firefighter, ASVAB, citizenship, basic skills more. You will need to register a user name and password of your choice to use this service.

More information

Novelist

Looking for the next book to read, or the next book in your favorite series? Novelist contains over 73,000 fiction titles and will help you search for books by author, titles or subjects.

More information

Opposing Viewpoints

Fully-cited material for school and college-level thesis papers and other research projects on hundreds of current topics. Get the latest views on current events and hot button topics from newspapers, magazines and reputable published sources.

More information

OverDrive eBooks & eAudiobooks

Through OverDrive, you can check out popular eBook, eAudiobook and streaming video titles with your library card and enjoy them for up to a two week lending period. Titles automatically expire at the end of the lending period, so there are no late fees.

There are hundreds of titles to choose from! Click more information and download one of the guides to get started with your specific device.

More information

Read the Books - AR Lists

Many of the school districts in the library’s service area offer the Accelerated Reader program. Students earn points at school by reading from a list of pre-selected books, and then taking tests about the books.

More information

Read the Books - Book Reviews

ReadtheBooks.com also offers an innovative and entertaining solution to help libraries connect kids with books.

3D-animated book review videos are available in 50+ categories. Every book and video is linked to your online library catalog.

Book reviews are available in English and some in Spanish. Videos include closed-captioning for hearing-impaired readers.

More information

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

The definitive online tool for small engine repair assistance, Small Engine Repair Reference Center provides users with detailed, yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines, from lawn mowers to watercraft and more.

More information

Tumblebooks

Interactive talking books for young and developing readers. Readers read along with the words on the screen. Selected books available in Spanish and French. Now, selected titles available for iPad! - Use the CHOOSE menu, and select Mobile to browse iPad titles.

More information

World Book

World Book is an easy-to-use encyclopedia with portals designed for all levels of learning.

More information

INSPIRE

Inspire is Indiana's Virtual Library, providing access to several databases for biographies, literature, and newspaper and magazine articles. Search from dozens of sources all over the web at once with a single click or narrow your search for specific materials.

Read on for tips on using this service at home.

More information